Randy Wise Junior Open

Flint Golf Club
Flint, Mich. Aug. 18 - 21, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 • tjackman@ajga.org

/ #AJGA2014
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Champions in the field
Nine players in the field have won an AJGA event during their junior careers. The nine players have a combined 14 victories between them with five boys and four girls claiming titles.
Michiganders to compete
The tournament field consist of 40 players from the state of Michigan, which is more than triple any other state. Canada also boasts an impressive 15 players in the field.
College commitment
Thirteen players in the Randy Wise Junior Open field have committed to play college golf in the near future. This includes three players who have committed to Michigan State and one to Michigan.
Flint Golf Club
The course is unique with five par-3s and five par-4s in which the front nine rotates around the back nine. The open fairways invite golfers to drive it deep, while the protected greens require precision that will challenge golfers of all skill levels.

Schedule of Events

Monday, August 18
8 a.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, August 19
7:30 a.m. – 12:40 p.m. First Round off No. 1 tee
Wednesday, August 20
7:30 a.m. – 12:40 p.m. Second Round off No. 1 tee
Thursday, August 21
7:30 a.m. – 12:40 p.m. Final Round off No. 1 tee
5:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2013 Results

Randy Wise Junior Open
Warwick Hills Golf & Country Club (Aug. 19 - 22, 2013)
Boys Division
1 Nicholas Ross (Canada) Dundas, Ontario 75–73–70—218
2 Donnie Trosper Canton, Mich. 73–74–72—219
3 Andrew Walker Battle Creek, Mich. 74–73–73—220
T4 David Kim Buena Park, Calif. 75–76–72—223
T4 David DeMarois Brighton, Mich. 76–73–74—223
Girls Division
1 Jillian Hollis Rocky River, Ohio 72–73–70—215
2 Chakansim Fai Khamborn (Thailand) Cincinnati, Ohio 72–75–73—220
3 Mika Liu Beverly Hills, Calif. 77–72–72—221
4 Riley Rennell Columbia, Tenn. 77–73–74—224
5 Emma Albrecht Ormond Beach, Fla. 75–79–73—227

Media Accommodations

The Randy Wise Junior Open will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to ajga.org. Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf became the AJGA’s National Sponsor in 2016 after more than 25 years of support. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2017, adidas joined the AJGA as a Premier Partner, serving as the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 910 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Zach Johnson, Justin Thomas, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Alison Lee, Lexi Thompson, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel.