BBCN Bank Junior Championship

Yorba Linda Country Club
Yorba Linda, Calif. July 21 - 24, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

All-Americans in the field
Justin Kim of Fullerton, Calif., and Sarah Cho of San Diego, are Rolex Junior All-Americans in the field.
Yorba Linda Country Club
Yorba Linda Country Club will host the second consecutive AJGA event, as 96 players compete. Situated on lush rolling terrain not far from the famed Nixon Library, Yorba Linda Country Club re-defines the private golf club experience. Blending the time-honored traditions of golf with modern, upscale conveniences, the club boasts a magnificent Harry Rainville-designed championship layout; an array of golf, social and recreational amenities; and the personalized service and exclusive privileges that have earned it recognition among the finest private clubs in North Orange County.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 21
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 22
6:45 – 11:55 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 tee
Wednesday, July 23
6:45 – 11:55 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 tee
Thursday, July 24
6:45 – 11:55 a.m. Final Round off No. 1 tee
4:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2013 Results

BBCN Bank Junior Championship
Yorba Linda Country Club (July 22 - 25, 2013)
Boys Division
1 Jose Mendez San Jose, Costa Rica 70–68–68—206
2 Blake Barens Villa Park, Calif. 72–67–71—210
T3 Dylan Wu Medford, Ore. 66–76–69—211
T3 Jin Ho Chung (Brazil) Cerritos, Calif. 70–68–73—211
T5 Matt Lutz Placentia, Calif. 72–70–71—213
T5 Issei Tanabe (Japan) Huntington Beach, Calif. 71–71–71—213
Girls Division
1 Alice Jo Toyama, Japan 67–67–73—207
2 Chayanid Prapassarangkul Bangkok, Thailand 71–74–67—212
3 Anne Cheng Torrance, Calif. 67–73–75—215
4 Mariel Galdiano Pearl City, Hawaii 74–70–72—216
5 Haley Moore Escondido, Calif. 74–73–72—219

Media Accommodations

The BBCN Bank Junior Championship will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.