Midwest Junior Players Championship

Mistwood Golf Club
Romeoville, Ill. July 14 - 17, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 • tjackman@ajga.org

/ #AJGA2014
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Future local teammates compete
Davis Holman of Yorba Linda, Calif., will compete in his second Midwest Junior Players Championship while Patrick Murphy of River Forest, Ill., will compete in his third. Both will be teammates at nearby Northern Illinois University starting in the fall.
Calbi siblings make a second appearance
Julia and Thomas Calbi will compete in the Midwest Junior Players Championship for the second time in the past three years. Julia finished T7 in 2012 while Thomas finished T39. This will mark the seventh time the siblings have competed together in AJGA events and second of 2014.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 14
8 a.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 15
7 – 8:39 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
Wednesday, July 16
11:30 a.m. – 1:09 p.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
Thursday, July 17
7 – 8:57 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
2 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2013 Results

Midwest Junior Players Championship
Mistwood Golf Club (June 17 - 20, 2013)
Boys Division
1 *Daniel Wetterich Cincinnati, Ohio 73–70–72—215
2 Brendan O'Reilly Hinsdale, Ill. 73–71–71—215
T3 Jack Ireland Mission Viejo, Calif. 74–73–72—219
T3 James Siegfried Town & Country, Mo. 77–73–69—219
5 Jack Coyne University Hts, Ohio 72–73–75—220
Girls Division
1 Maria Vesga Piedecuesta, Colombia 74–72–72—218
2 Jordan Ferreira University Place, Wash. 75–74–73—222
3 Jessica Yuen Bolingbrook, Ill. 76–76–73—225
4 Dana Gattone Addison, Ill. 79–77–70—226
5 Madasyn Pettersen Rockford, Ill. 77–74–76—227
* Won via a sudden-death playoff

Media Accommodations

The Midwest Junior Players Championship will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to ajga.org. Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf became the AJGA’s National Sponsor in 2016 after more than 25 years of support. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2017, adidas joined the AJGA as a Premier Partner, serving as the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 910 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Zach Johnson, Justin Thomas, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Alison Lee, Lexi Thompson, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel.