AJGA Junior at Steelwood

Steelwood Country Club
Loxley, Ala. June 2 - 5, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 • tjackman@ajga.org

/ #AJGA2014
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Coming back for more
The 2013 Girls Division champion, Taylor Coleman of San Antonio, Texas, returns in 2014 to defend her title. She finished the 2013 event with a tournament-total 6-under-par 210. This was the lowest Girls Division tournament total in the events seven-year history.
Local players to compete
Thirteen players from the state of Alabama will compete in the event. Florida has the most players in the field with 26.
Steelwood country club
Rated by Golf Digest as "One of the best golf courses in Alabama," Steelwood Country Club brings the elements of nature with an upscale feel. Tall pines and rolling hills combine with several bodies of water to provide picturesque views and challenges around the course.

Schedule of Events

Monday, June 2
10 a.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, June 3
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. First Round off No. 1 tee
Wednesday, June 4
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Second Round off No. 1 tee
Thursday, June 5
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Final Round off No. 1 tee
5 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2013 Results

AJGA Junior at Steelwood
Steelwood Country Club (June 3 - 6, 2013)
Boys Division
1 Bennett Baker Tallahassee, Fla. 71–65–66—202
2 Davis Riley Hattiesburg, Miss. 71–68–69—208
3 Matthew Perrine Austin, Texas 71–66–72—209
4 David Mackey Bogart, Ga. 71–69–71—211
T5 Connor Smith Birmingham, Ala. 69–70–73—212
T5 Connor Slane Helena, Ala. 72–68–72—212
Girls Division
1 Taylor Coleman San Antonio, Texas 65–70–75—210
2 Anna Newell Tampa, Fla. 71–71–73—215
3 Rachel Dai Milton, Ga. 74–72–71—217
4 Jayshree Sarathy Palo Alto, Calif. 74–72–75—221
5 Tatum Jackson Mountain Brook, Ala. 69–78–76—223

Media Accommodations

The AJGA Junior at Steelwood will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to ajga.org. Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf became the AJGA’s National Sponsor in 2016 after more than 25 years of support. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2017, adidas joined the AJGA as a Premier Partner, serving as the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 910 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Zach Johnson, Justin Thomas, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Alison Lee, Lexi Thompson, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel.