AJGA Girls Championship

The Furman Golf Club
Greenville, S.C. Aug. 30 - Sep. 2, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 • tjackman@ajga.org

/ #AJGAGirls
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Furman's future
Two players in the field have verbally committed to compete at Furman University and will play on their future home course. Alice Chen of Princeton, N.J., and Reona Hirai of Summerville, S.C., will join the Paladins in fall of 2014. Lauren Stephenson of Lexington, S.C., a 2015 graduate, has verbally committed to nearby Clemson University.
Betsy Rawls Award
The Betsy Rawls Award is annually awarded during the Legacy Dinner at the AJGA Girls Championship. The award honors 55-time LPGA Tour champion Betsy Rawls and the legacy she has provided women's golf. Rawls was honored with the inaugural award in 2009 and Betsy King (2010), Cindy Davis (2011) and Nancy Lopez (2012) have all received the award. Former LPGA Commissioner Charlie Mechem will receive the 2013 Betsy Rawls Award.

Schedule of Events

Friday, August 30
Noon shotgun Practice Round
Saturday, August 31
8 – 10 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
Sunday, September 1
8 – 10 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
Monday, September 2
9 a.m. shotgun Final Round
2 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

AJGA Girls Championship
The Furman Golf Club (Aug. 31 - Sep. 3, 2012)
1 Simin Feng (China) Windermere, Fla. 74–70–66—210
2 Ashlan Ramsey Milledgeville, Ga. 70–72–70—212
3 Lauren Stephenson Lexington, S.C. 75–73–65—213
T4 Katelyn Dambaugh Goose Creek, S.C. 73–70–71—214
T4 Rinko Mitsunaga Roswell, Ga. 72–72–70—214
6 Bethany Wu Diamond Bar, Calif. 71–69–76—216
T7 Hannah O'Sullivan Chandler, Ariz. 74–75–68—217
T7 Rachel Dai Milton, Ga. 75–71–71—217
T9 Sloan Shanahan Suwanee, Ga. 72–75–72—219
T9 Yueer Cindy Feng (China) Orlando, Fla. 71–71–77—219

Media Accommodations

The AJGA Girls Championship will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to ajga.org. Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.