The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf

TPC Sawgrass - Stadium & Dye's Valley Courses
Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. Aug. 28 - Sep. 1, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Juniors get the TOUR experience
The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf is held at TPC Sawgrass, home of The PLAYERS Championship. The event is one of six on the 2013 schedule played at a course which also hosts a professional golf event. In 2012, Bud Cauley became the event's first alum to compete at the PGA TOUR's PLAYERS Championship. Cauley first to go from Junior PLAYERS to THE PLAYERS
Around the world
The field boasts 19 players from foreign countries. The most represented country outside of the United States is Mexico with three juniors native of the southern neighbor. France, Ireland, Norway, Spain and Sweden will each be represented by two players, while Australia, Canada, the Czech Republic, Italy, Japan and Panama each have one native player in the field.
The field by the numbers
Eight of the top 10 in the Polo Golf Rankings are scheduled to compete at the event. Scott Scheffler of Dallas, tops the field at No. 1 in the Polo Golf Rankings, while Brad Dalke of Hobart, Okla., (No. 2) and Tyler McDaniel of Manchester, Ky., (No. 10) are the only juniors returning who finished among the top-five in 2012.
Bill Huges named 2012 GM of the Year
Bill Hughes, General Manager of TPC Sawgrass, was named the General Manager of the Year by the American Junior Golf Association following the 2012 season. This award honors the general manager that displays an unwavering support of the AJGA and junior golf by creating a memorable tournament experience for players, families, staff and volunteers. Hughes was a driving force in creating The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf in 2007. General Manager of the Year: Bill Hughes
The Mission
More than half of the players in the field have verbally committed to play college golf at 30 different institutions.

Schedule of Events

Thursday, August 29
8 a.m. shotgun Practice Round
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Friday, August 30
8 – 10 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
Saturday, August 31
8 – 10 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
Sunday, September 1
8 – 10 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
3 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf
TPC Sawgrass (Aug. 29 - Sep. 2, 2012)
1 Robby Shelton, IV Wilmer, Ala. 70–67–72—209
2 Brad Dalke Hobart, Okla. 71–67–72—210
3 Jim Liu Smithtown, N.Y. 70–67–77—214
4 Daniel De La Garza Monterrey, Mexico 74–70–71—215
T5 Brandon Pierce Covington, La. 74–72–70—216
T5 Peter Kim Metuchen, N.J. 74–68–74—216
T7 Ben Dietrich Bluffton, S.C. 80–65–72—217
T7 Nicolo Galletti Phoenix, Ariz. 74–69–74—217
T9 Pierre Mazier St Raphael, France 72–73–73—218
T9 Matt Gilchrest Southlake, Texas 75–68–75—218
T9 Tyler McDaniel Manchester, Ky. 72–71–75—218
T9 Vincent Whaley Mckinney, Texas 74–69–75—218

Media Accommodations

The Junior PLAYERS Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.