Bass Pro Shops / Payne Stewart Junior Championship

Rivercut Golf Course
Springfield, Mo. July 29 - Aug. 1, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Champions Return
The 2012 Boys and Girls Division champions return in 2013 to defend their titles. Noah Edmondson of Davidson, N.C., and Anne Freman of Las Vegas, will look to become the only repeat victors in the event's seven year history.
Making it a tradition
The Bass Pro Shops / Payne Stewart Junior Championship will return to Springfield, Mo., for the seventh time in 2013, making it the longest-running AJGA event in the state of Missouri. The AJGA has hosted 18 events in six cities in Missouri throughout its history.
The Payne Stewart Foundation supports the AJGA
Payne Stewart was an 11-time winner on the PGA Tour, including three major championships (1989 PGA Championship, 1991 U.S. Open and the 1999 U.S. Open). He grew up in Springfield, Mo., and Bass Pro Shops, the co-sponsor of the event, was one of his first sponsors when we joined the TOUR. He was well known for his sportsmanship, integrity and generosity.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 29
1 p.m. Junior-Am Lunch and Awards Reception
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 30
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. First Round off No. 1 tee
Wednesday, July 31
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Second Round off No. 1 tee
Thursday, August 1
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Final Round off No. 1 tee
5 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

Bass Pro Shops / Payne Stewart Junior Championship
Rivercut Golf Course (July 30 - Aug. 2, 2012)
Boys Division
1 *Noah Edmondson Davidson, N.C. 69–65–74—208
2 Grant Hirschman Collierville, Tenn. 69–73–66—208
3 Kyle Cook Jonesboro, Ark. 72–70–68—210
T4 Preston Fleenor Mission Hills, Kan. 68–71–74—213
T4 J.D. Kiesewetter Katy, Texas 71–74–68—213
T4 Eli Armstrong Edmond, Okla. 69–70–74—213
T4 Tanner Owen Parkville, Mo. 69–72–72—213
Girls Division
1 Anne Freman Las Vegas, Nev. 66–72–75—213
2 Shawn Rennegarbe Addieville, Ill. 72–74–68—214
3 Alice Chen Princeton, N.J. 71–72–74—217
4 Anna Kim Broken Arrow, Okla. 70–73–75—218
5 Jordan Chael Overland Park, Kan. 68–76–75—219
* Won via a sudden-death playoff

Media Accommodations

The Bass Pro Shops / Payne Stewart Junior Championship will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.