E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf

Jones Creek Golf Club
Augusta, Ga. July 29 - Aug. 1, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 • tjackman@ajga.org

@AJGAGolf www.facebook.com/AJGAGolf
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Looking to defend
Connor Smith of Shoal Creek, Ala., looks to defend his title at the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf. The 2012 champion is coming off a victory at the AJGA Huntsville Junior in July and two top-10 finishes in 2013. David Hemann of Evans, Ga., claimed second place at last year's event and will seek his first AJGA title. Michaela Owen of Suwanne, Ga., and Tatiana Pineda of Bogota, Colombia, tied for fourth at the 2012 tournament and will look to improve upon their strong finishes.
Award-winning event
Dedication from the tournament committee and volutneers at E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf was recognized in 2011 as the tournament won the AJGA's Most Improved Award. The Most Improved Award is given annually to an AJGA tournament committee that goes above and beyond to improve on the efforts from the previous year, ultimately giving tournament participants and parents a superior experience.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 29
8 a.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 30
8 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. First Round off No. 1 tee
Wednesday, July 31
8 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Second Round off No. 1 tee
Thursday, August 1
8 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Final Round off No. 1 tee
5:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf
Jones Creek Golf Club (July 23 - 26, 2012)
Boys Division
1 Connor Smith Birmingham, Ala. 67–69–72—208
2 David Hemann Evans, Ga. 71–76–68—215
3 Arjuna Anday Murfreesboro, Tenn. 72–69–75—216
4 Buster Bruton Dallas, Ga. 76–70–71—217
T5 Jason Mendel Norcross, Ga. 75–71–72—218
T5 Zachary Healy Peachtree Corners, Ga. 74–72–72—218
T5 Carter Mobley Waynesboro, Ga. 73–74–71—218
Girls Division
1 *August Kim St Augustine, Fla. 75–78–67—220
2 McKenzie Talbert North Augusta, S.C. 71–75–74—220
3 Carianne Wright Debary, Fla. 75–73–79—227
T4 Tatiana Pineda Bogota, Colombia 74–77–78—229
T4 Michaela Owen Suwanee, Ga. 81–75–73—229
T4 Jessica Hoang North Augusta, S.C. 72–78–79—229
* Won via a sudden-death playoff

Media Accommodations

The E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to ajga.org. Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf became the AJGA’s National Sponsor in 2016 after more than 25 years of support. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2017, adidas joined the AJGA as a Premier Partner, serving as the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 910 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Zach Johnson, Justin Thomas, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Alison Lee, Lexi Thompson, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel.