McArthur Towel & Sports Future Legends

The Legend at Brandybrook
Wales, Wis. July 9 - 12, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Back for more
Now in its eighth year, the McArthur Towel & Sports Future Legends will return to The Legend at Brandybrook for the first time since 2008. The unique Wisconsin course boasts 300 acres of greens and open space. McArthur Towel & Sports, a top manufacturer of licensed terry products, began its title sponsorship in 2009 and every towel given out by the AJGA is a McArthur towel.
2013 AJGA Junior at Quad Cities champion Varun Chopra and runner-up Charlie Netzel will meet again in Wales, Wis. In the final round of the event, Chopra teed off No. 18 tied with Netzel; both were 1-under-par. Chopra sealed the victory with a nearly 15-foot putt for par. Chopra and Netzel are ranked first and second in the boys' field respectively.
Future Badgers to compete
Six University of Wisconsin-Madison commits will compete in the 2013 McArthur Towel & Sports Future Legends. Aya Johnson and Benjamin Skogen have signed National Letters of Intent with the Badgers while Michael Abrahamson, Johnny Decker, Jordan Hahn and Payton Taylor are verbally committed.

Schedule of Events

Tuesday, July 9
11 a.m. – 2 p.m. Practice Round off No. 1 tee
Wednesday, July 10
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. First Round off No. 1 tee
Thursday, July 11
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Second Round off No. 1 tee
Friday, July 12
7 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Final Round off No. 1 tee
5 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

McArthur Towel & Sports Future Legends
The Legend at Bristlecone (July 10 - 13, 2012)
Boys Division
1 Matthew Weber Saint Charles, Ill. 69–70–73—212
2 Max Donohue Sioux Falls, S.D. 70–71–72—213
T3 Ryan Medhaug Veblen, S.D. 71–72–71—214
T3 Henry Klongland Stoughton, Wis. 72–70–72—214
T3 Nicholas Jan Northbrook, Ill. 70–71–73—214
Girls Division
1 Samantha Stewart Oklahoma City, Okla. 72–74–75—221
T2 Isabella Skinner Cumming, Ga. 74–71–78—223
T2 Alexandra Harkins Crystal Lake, Ill. 73–71–79—223
4 Jordan Lippetz Bradenton, Fla. 73–76–75—224
5 Jordy LaBarbera Allen, Texas 75–80–71—226

Media Accommodations

The McArthur Towel & Sports Future Legends will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf became the AJGA’s National Sponsor in 2016 after more than 25 years of support. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2017, adidas joined the AJGA as a Premier Partner, serving as the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 910 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Zach Johnson, Justin Thomas, Stacy Lewis, Ariya Jutanugarn, Alison Lee, Lexi Thompson, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel.