Genesis Shootout presented by the Valero Texas Open

Fair Oaks Ranch Golf & Country Club - Live Oak Course
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas July 8 - 11, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

/ #AJGAGenesis
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Local flavor
93 players from the Lone Star State will compete in the 2013 Genesis Shootout presented by the Valero Texas Open. Three players, Jamee Jorgensen, Tyler Walsh and Zander Lozano call Fair Oaks Ranch home.
2012 Champion returns to defend her title
Marijosse Navarro of nearby San Antonio won the 2012 Genesis Shootout presented by the Valero Texas Open with rounds of 66-73-70 for a tournament total 209, a two-stroke win over her nearest competitor. Navarro, who also won the event in 2009 and 2010 will look to take home her fourth win on Fair Oaks Ranch Golf and Country Club's Live Oak Course.
Thomas signs with near by UTSA
Libby Thomas, a 2013 graduate of Lee High School in Midland will continue her golf career at the the University of Texas - San Antonio in the fall. This is Thomas' third time competing at the Genesis Shootout presented by the Valero Texas Open. Her highest finish was in 2011 when rounds of 75-75-77 had her finish in ninth place.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 8
1 p.m. Junior-Am Awards and Lunch Reception
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 9
7:45 - 9:25 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
12:30 - 2:10 p.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
Wednesday, July 10
7:45 - 9:25 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
12:30 - 2:10 p.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
Thursday, July 11
7:45 - 9:45 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
2:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

Genesis Shootout presented by the Valero Texas Open
Fair Oaks Ranch Golf & Country Club (July 9 - 12, 2012)
Boys Division
1 Matt Gilchrest Southlake, Texas 70–67–70—207
2 Luis Medina Jalisco, Mexico 68–71–69—208
3 Raul Hernandez (Venezuela) League City, Texas 66–73–71—210
T4 Brandon Pierce Covington, La. 69–71–72—212
T4 Frederick Wedel Houston, Texas 72–70–70—212
T4 Carter Patterson The Woodlands, Texas 71–70–71—212
T4 Jonathan Vasquez Bryan, Texas 69–72–71—212
Girls Division
1 Marijosse Navarro (Mexico) San Antonio, Texas 66–73–70—209
2 Alexandra Rossi Austin, Texas 72–67–72—211
3 Lakareber Abe Angleton, Texas 71–70–73—214
4 Maddie Szeryk Allen, Texas 70–75–71—216
5 Christine Lin Austin, Texas 73–69–75—217

Media Accommodations

The Genesis Shootout presented by the Valero Texas Open will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.