Coca-Cola Junior Championship at Boyne Highlands

Boyne Highlands Resort - Heather Course
Harbor Springs, Mich. July 1 - 4, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Local talent
78 players from Michigan will compete in this year's tournament. Five players in the field have committed to play collegiate golf in the state of Michigan, including Reed Hrynewich and Brody Schiller who have signed to play for the University of Michigan.
Volunteers to the rescue
The Coca-Cola Junior Championship at Boyne Highlands earned the AJGA's Volunteer Award in 2006 and has continued to show unmatched support in terms of volunteer help. Each year, more than 150 people donate their time to the AJGA and the event, serving as shuttle drivers, spotters, live scorers, pace of play timing station volunteers, scoreboard artists and more.
Michigan juniors looking for home town win
In the tournament's nine year history, only two Michigan natives has claimed the title of Coca-Cola Junior Championship at Boyne Highlands Champion. Matthew Thompson of Battle Creek was the first Michigan native to win the event in 2006 when he carded tournament rounds of 70-68-75-213. In 2010, Joey Garber of Petoskey was crowned champion with scores of 69-68-73-210. The Girls Division has yet to crown a Michiganite champion. More than 50 percent of this year's field hails from Michigan.
Polo Golf Rankings
Two players in the field are in the top-100 of the Polo Golf Rankings. Reed Hrynewich ranks at No. 86 and Kari Bellville ranks at No. 85.

Schedule of Events

Monday, July 1
2 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Tuesday, July 2
7:30 – 9:09 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
Noon – 1:39 p.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
Wednesday, July 3
7:30 – 9:09 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
Noon – 1:39 p.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
Thursday, July 4
7:30 – 9:09 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (1st wave)
Noon – 1:39 p.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees (2nd wave)
7 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

Coca-Cola Junior Championship at Boyne Highlands
Boyne Highlands Resort (July 2 - 5, 2012)
Boys Division
1 Raymond Knoll Naperville, Ill. 76–68–68—212
2 Sean Stone Evansville, Ind. 76–69–68—213
3 Max Kollin Farmington Hills, Mich. 72–71–71—214
T4 Ramsey Touchberry Bradenton, Fla. 70–73–72—215
T4 Donnie Trosper Canton, Mich. 73–72–70—215
Girls Division
1 *Abbey Carlson Lake Mary, Fla. 73–72–73—218
2 Jordan Chael Overland Park, Kan. 77–75–66—218
3 Carolyn Markley Maineville, Ohio 74–73–74—221
T4 Kari Bellville Granger, Ind. 73–76–73—222
T4 Megan Kim Redondo Beach, Calif. 74–75–73—222
T4 Grace Kil (South Korea) Arlington Heights, Ill. 79–75–68—222
* Won via a sudden-death playoff

Media Accommodations

The Coca-Cola Junior Championship at Boyne Highlands will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.