ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior

Mission Hills Country Club - Dinah Shore Tournament Course
Rancho Mirage, Calif. June 17 - 20, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Tim Jackman • (803) 417-6274 •

/ #MissionHillsJr
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

AJGA returns to historic venue
Mission Hills Country Club has staged 32 consecutive AJGA events, making it the longest-running venue on the Association's schedule. The event's past champions provides a look at the current and future stars of the game. Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Cantlay, Kevin Na, Jennifer Johnson, Brandi Burton, Emilee Klein, Kellee Booth and Grace Park won the ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior during their junior careers.
Players, staff take ''The Jump''
Each year, tournament participants and AJGA staff jump into Poppie's Pond beside the No. 18 green at Mission Hills Country Club's Dinah Shore Tournament Course.
Six Rolex Junior All-Americans to compete
Six players in the 2013 ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior field were named to Rolex Junior All-American teams in 2012. Alison Lee of Valencia, Calif., represented the first team while Erin Choi of Torrance, Calif., and Derek Castillo of Yorba Linda, Calif., were named to the second team. Danielle Lee of La Mirada, Calif., Yu Liu of Beijing, and Hannah O'Sullivan of Paradise Valley, Ariz., were named as honorable mentions.
Boys Division Champion returns
Derek Castillo of Yorba Linda, Calif., returns to defend his 2012 ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior title. Last year, Castillo held off his opponents down the stretch during the final round to join the long, impressive list of past champions at the ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior. Castillo scored an even-par 72 to finish 5-under-par 211 for the tournament.

Schedule of Events

Monday, June 17
7 – 9 a.m. Practice Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
Tuesday, June 18
6:30 – 8:09 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
Wednesday, June 19
6:30 – 8:09 a.m. Second Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
Thursday, June 20
6:30 – 8:09 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 & 10 tees
1 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch


2012 Results

ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior
Mission Hills Country Club (June 18 - 21, 2012)
Boys Division
1 Derek Castillo Yorba Linda, Calif. 68–71–72—211
T2 Christopher Tuulik San Diego, Calif. 68–71–73—212
T2 Jonah Texeira Porter Ranch, Calif. 71–69–72—212
T2 Li Wang Sammamish, Wash. 69–73–70—212
5 Ben Doyle La Jolla, Calif. 70–70–73—213
Girls Division
1 Amy Lee Brea, Calif. 67–73–70—210
2 Hannah O'Sullivan Chandler, Ariz. 74–69–69—212
T3 Sarah Cho San Diego, Calif. 75–70–69—214
T3 Mackenzie Raim Palm Desert, Calif. 75–69–70—214
T3 Raychelle Santos La Quinta, Calif. 72–72–70—214

Media Accommodations

The ClubCorp Mission Hills Desert Junior will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

About the AJGA

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018, the American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-19) of more than 6,900 members from 50 states and 60 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

TaylorMade and adidas are the AJGA’s National Sponsors, supporting the AJGA for more than 25 years. TaylorMade has served as the Official Ball of the AJGA since 2016. adidas has been the Official Apparel and Footwear of the AJGA since 2017. Rolex, in its fourth decade of AJGA sponsorship, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 900 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods, Paula Creamer, Ariya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Anna Nordqvist, Inbee Park and Lexi Thompson.