LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf
K12 Qualifier Series
Rush Creek Golf Club
Maple Grove, Minn. • June 14, 2009



Konop cards 75 to medal in the Girls Division at Rush Creek Golf Club

MAPLE GROVE, Minn.  — James DeBoer of Onalaska, Wis., and Michael Hong of Fullerton, Calif., carded 3-under-par 69s at Rush Creek Golf Club Sunday to medal in the Boys Division and qualify for the W. Duncan MacMillian Classic at Rush Creek. In the Girls Division, Jennifer Konop of Green Bay, Wis., posted 3-over-par 75.

Conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, the K12 Qualifier for the W. Duncan MacMillan Classic at Rush Creek was an 18-hole stroke play event. The tournament field consisted of 48 Boys and 11 Girls, ages 12-18, from 11 states. The par-72 course was played at 6,790 yards for the Boys Division and 6,033 yards for the Girls Division. K¹² Qualifiers give juniors an opportunity to "play their way in" to coinciding AJGA Open Tournaments or earn a Tournament Exemption or Performance Star for a future event. The K¹² Qualifier Series offers opportunities for AJGA juniors at approximately 50 AJGA Open Events.

Beginning the day on hole No. 8, DeBoer finished strong with a front nine score of 3-under-par 33.

“On my second to last hole, No. 6 I hit my drive right down the fairway and chipped in for birdie,” said DeBoer, who carded six birdies for the day.

Hong started the day by making a birdie on his first hole, eventually carding a 1-under-par 35 on the front-nine and a 2-under-par 34 on the back-nine.

“I started on hole No. 6, and made a 60 foot putt for birdie,” said Hong. “I putted really well today.”

Joining Hong in the W. Duncan MacMillian Classic at Rush Creek Boys Division field are 12 fellow qualifiers: Chase Hahne of Ramsey, Minn., at 70; RayVaun Christenson of Ozark, Mo., and Matthew Ohl of Milford, Iowa, at 73; Jack McKinney of Big Bend, Wis., Nicholas Olsgaard of Moorhead, Minn., and Charlie Danielson of Osceola, Wis., at 74; Joey Shroyer of Victoria, Minn., at 76; Shawn Foley of Pewaukee, Wis., Eric Aughinbaugh of Fargo, N.D., Matthew Ross of Hartland, Wis., and Sanjay Lumpkin of Wayzata, Minn., at 77. Sam Reber of Rosemount, Minn., qualified through a sudden-death playoff at 78.

DeBoer along with Perry Johnson of Lake Forest, Ill., David Christian of Oconomowoc, Wis., Edward McCrossen of Ambler, Pa., Peter Marshall of Lake Forest, Ill., Colton Buege of Rogers, Minn., and Max Mantey of Appleton, Wis., all fell within the original qualifier score of 75 but chose to take an AJGA Tournament Exemption in lieu of playing in the W. Duncan MacMillian at Rush Creek.

In the Girls Division, Konop hit many fairways en route to an even-par 36 on her first-nine and 3-over-par 39 on her second nine.

“On the par 5, No. 8, I drove into the rough on the left and then hit my hybrid three wood. From there I hit my wedge and made a 20 foot putt for birdie,” said Konop.

Konop and Carley Saint-Onge of Marquette, Mich., both decided to take an AJGA Tournament Exemption rather than competing in the W. Duncan MacMillian Classic at Rush Creek. Lauren Coughlin of Chesapeake, Va., and Casey Danielson of Osceola, Wis., round out the Girls Division tournament field.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The largest Association of its kind, the AJGA has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of more than 5,000 junior golfers from 50 states and more than 30 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Polo Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 200 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 350 wins. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Stewart Cink, Davis Love III, Cristie Kerr, Pat Hurst, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Morgan Pressel and Julieta Granada.

K¹² Inc., a technology-based education company, is the nation's leading provider of proprietary curriculum and online education programs to students in grades K-12. K¹² provides its curriculum and academic services to online schools, traditional classrooms, blended school programs, and directly to families. Over 55,000 students in 23 states and the District of Columbia are enrolled in online public schools that use the K¹² program. K¹² Inc. also operates the K¹² International Academy, an accredited, diploma-granting online private school serving students worldwide. The K¹² academic program is used by many young people pursuing careers in athletics, music, art, acting, and other professions that require a high degree of scheduling flexibility. More information can be found at www.k12.com.

First-round tee times for the W. Duncan MacMillan Classic at Rush Creek will run from 7 a.m. — 12:20 p.m., off the No. 1 tee Tuesday, June 16 at Rush Creek Golf Club. For more information about the W. Duncan MacMillan Classic at Rush Creek, please contact Tournament Headquarters at (763) 255-2963 or visit ajga.org.