LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf
Srixon Qualifier Series
The Legend at Brandybrook
Wales, Wis. • July 7, 2008

Schuldt Claims First-Time Medalist Honors at The Legend at Brandybrook

WALES, Wis. — Bradley Klune of Itasca, Ill., led all boys qualifiers Monday for the AJGA's Future Legends at The Legend at Brandybrook when he carded a 1-over-par 72. In the Girls Division, Ember Schuldt of Sterling, Ill., recorded a 7-over-par 78 to earn medalist honors.

Conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, the Future Legends Qualifier was an 18-hole stroke play event held at The Legend at Brandybrook. The 98-player field featured players from 15 states. The Boys Division played the par-71 course at 6,794 yards while the Girls Division played at 5,955 yards.

Klune, 16, recorded four birdies en route to earning medalist honors and said he knew after his first shot he would play a good round.

“This is a great course and the greens are receptive,” Klune said. “I started out trying to fly to the hole, but then realized I needed to bounce everything up and really roll up the green to the hole.”

Also qualifying for the Future Legends were Matthew Vitale of Elk Grove Village, Ill., Ryan Howard of The Woodlands, Texas, Bradley Yosaitis of Honolulu, Hawaii, Theodore Lederhausen of Hinsdale, Ill., Chris Holsinger of Tequesta, Fla., Jack McKinney of Big Bend, Wis., Ryan Grassel of Chesterton, Ind., Tim McCormick of Madison, Wis., and Daniel Simonsen of Mequon, Wis.

Qualifying but opting to take a Tournament Exemption in lieu of playing in the championship, were Bennett Lavin of Deerfield, Ill., Ross Bowen of Winnetka, Ill., Alexander Burge of Bloomington, Ill., and Anthony Burdi of Carol Stream, Ill.

Schuldt, 16, who will take a Tournament Exemption in lieu of playing in the championship, played in the Future Legends Qualifier in 2007 and used her experience to guide her play this year.

“This is a good course for me because I can drive the ball well and there are some long holes,” Schuldt said. “I also remembered the greens being tough from last year and was able to play those well.”

Also qualifying in the Girls Division was Molly O'Connor of Wheaton, Ill., and Lily Bartell of Cave Creek, Ariz.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA, the largest Association of its kind, has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 5,000 junior golfers from 49 states and 25 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Polo Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 160 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 300 wins. AJGA alumni include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Stewart Cink, Davis Love III, Cristie Kerr, Pat Hurst, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, Morgan Pressel and Julieta Granada.

First-round tee times for the Future Legends will run from 6:30 — 10:51 a.m. Tuesday off the No. 1 tee at The Legend at Brandybrook. For more information, please contact Tournament Headquarters at (262) 968-9717 ext. 211.