LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf

The Rawls Course at Texas Tech
Lubbock, Texas • June 19 - 22

Wenglasz clinches victory by three strokes in Girls Division

LUBBOCK, Texas — Scott Roudebush of Austin, Texas, won his first-ever American Junior Golf Association tournament at the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority by carding a three-day total of 210 after waiting through a four-hour weather delay. After three rounds of play, Whitney Wenglasz of Oldsmar, Fla., carded a 218, earning herself top honors at The Rawls Course at Texas Tech University.

Conducted by the AJGA, the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority was a 54-hole stroke play event held at the Rawls Course at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas. The tournament featured 90 boys and 30 girls — ages 12-18 — from 12 states including 80 from Texas. Past Champions include Cody Wimberly of Lubbock, Texas and Taylore Karle of Scottsdale, Ariz.

Finishing with one eagle and three birdies in the third round, Roudebush carded a 67, finishing with an overall score of 71-72-67—210. Going into the clubhouse for the weather delay, Roudebush was looking to stay focused and to come out playing strong.

“I was ready to get out and play,” Roudebush said. “I was rooting for us to come back out and finish the round.”

After the weather delay, Roudebush had a game plan in mind for a win.

“I knew No. 16 would be tough, but I felt like I had to birdie Nos. 17 and 18 to give me a shot at a victory,” Roudebush said.

Earning second place honors, finishing with 211s, were Christopher Walker of The Woodlands, Texas, and Michael Whitehead of Sugar Land, Texas. Broc Raymond of The Woodlands, Texas, and Devin Miertschin of El Paso, Texas, carded three-day totals of 212s to finish in third place.

Winning her first-ever AJGA victory, Wenglasz carded a 72-74-72—218 to claim top honors in the Girls Division.

“It feels so good to win”, said Wenglasz. “I can't wait to call everyone and let them know.”

Rounding out the leaderboard were Lindsay Cullen of Allen, Texas, and Sarah Beth Davis of Victoria, Texas, both shooting 221s. In fourth place was Jennifer Johnson of Carlsbad, Calif., carding a 73-79-70—222.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA, the largest Association of its kind, has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 5,000 junior golfers from 50 states and 30 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 160 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiles more than 300 wins. AJGA alumni include Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, Mike Weir, Charles Howell III, Jim Furyk, Grace Park, Cristie Kerr, Candie Kung and Paula Creamer.

For more information on the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority please contact the AJGA National Headquarters at (877)-373-2542.