LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf

Srixon Qualifier Series
The Rawls Course at Texas Tech
Lubbock, Texas • June 19, 2006


Trembly leads Girls Division to advance into tournament

LUBBOCK, Texas — Tom Callahan, 17, of Sierra Vista, Ariz., fired a 1-under-par 71 to lead the Boys Division in the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority Srixon Qualifier. Lizzie Trembly, 17, took home top honors in the Girls Division with a final score of 78.

The Srixon Qualifier for the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority was an 18-hole event conducted by the American Junior Golf Association at The Rawls Course at Texas Tech University and featured 45 players representing four states. Eleven boys and three girls qualified for the three-day tournament.

Callahan carded five birdies on the day en route to his first ever AJGA tournament entry. Callahan took home bragging rights after leading by three strokes and said playing the course the day before, he knew it all came down to ball placement.

“With the wind, the course plays pretty tough,” Callahan said. “I knew it would come down to missing in the right spots, and I guess I did just that.”

Carding 12 pars on the day, Trembly's consistency lead to medalist honors in the Girls Division with a 78. Trembly said the windy conditions at the Rawls Course at Texas Tech University made the game more challenging.

“When I played the course I loved it,” Trembly said. “I felt I could do well on this course but the wind defiantly made for a few club changes.”

Rounding out the Girls Division were Sarah Beth Davis of Victoria, Texas, and Morgan Taylor of Lewisville, Texas.

Also qualifying for the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority in the Boys Division were Key Young of Coppell, Texas, Justin Lavine of Sugarland, Texas, Michael Turner of Kerrville, Texas, Cabe Joswick of the Woodlands, Texas, Niko Bain of Glendale, Ariz., Tray Sullivan of Aledo, Texas, Robert Gibson of San Antonio, Matt Baum of Albuquerque, N.M., Lance Byars Southlake, Texas, Lance Clinton of DeSoto, Texas, Sarah Beth Davis of Victoria, Texas, and Kalie Presti of Southlake, Texas.

Ben Hargis of Amarillo, Texas, James Kwon of Houston, Chris Watters of San Diego, Chase Newkumet of Midland, Texas, and Austin Reynolds of Dallas decided to have a tournament exemption added to their Performance Based Entry in lieu of playing in this week's tournament.

SRIXON Sports USA, Inc., based in Norcross, Ga., has been distributing premium golf balls and equipment in the U.S. since 1997 and is a subsidiary of SRI Sports. SRI Sports is one of the world's leading patent holders in golf ball technology and manufactures several golf balls played in the United States. SRI Sports-made balls have won 73 PGA TOUR events since 1989, including seven majors. For more information about SRIXON, please visit www.srixon.com

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA, the largest Association of its kind, has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 5,000 junior golfers from 50 states and 30 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 160 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiles more than 300 wins. AJGA alumni include Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, Mike Weir, Charles Howell III, Jim Furyk, Grace Park, Cristie Kerr, Candie Kung and Paula Creamer.

The first round of the Randy Smith Classic presented by the Lubbock Sports Authority will be held Tuesday, June 20 at the Rawls Course at Texas Tech University beginning at 7 a.m. For more information please contact tournament headquarters at (806)742-4653.