LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
TaylorMade Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA
adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA
The Country Club at Mirasol - Sunset Course
Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. • June 6 - 9

Hurst catapults into lead at The Country Club at Mirasol

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla.—Major Forbess of Jacksonville, Fla., maintained his lead position in the Boys Division after recording scores of 69-67-136, distancing himself from the field by a slim one-shot margin after the second round of the Mirasol Junior Championship Thursday. Vicky Hurst of Melbourne, Fla., found her way to the top of the Girls Division leaderboard after carding a 4-under-par 68 for a tournament total score of 142, giving her a three-stroke lead going into the final round.

Conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, the Mirasol Junior Championship is a 54-hole stroke-play competition featuring 81 boys and girls from seven states and seven foreign countries. Home to the PGA TOUR's Honda Classic from 2003-2006, The Country Club at Mirasol is hosting the event for the third consecutive year.

The Mirasol Junior Championship is only the second AJGA event for Forbess. He contributed his continued success during the second round to his putter.

“My putter was working well. I never had to make any long par putts,” Forbess said, who finished tied for second at the 2006 Medicus Preseason Junior at Black Bear. “I only had 26 putts.”

Forbess had a near perfect front nine, where he birdied five of his last nine holes to secure a 5-under-par 67 to take the lead.

“I feel like the pressure is on the other players since this is my first (Open) event,” Forbess said.

Richard Lee of Chandler, Ariz., shot the lowest round of the day at 7-under-par 65 to move to second at 137. Brad Schneider of Valrico, Fla., shot a 5-under-par 67 to move to third at 139. Jhared Hack of Heathrow, Fla., follows in fourth at 70-71—141. Brooks Koepka of Wellington, Fla., Tyler Herndon of Davie, Fla., and Tommy Chung Hao Mou of Taipei, Taiwan are all tied for fifth at 142.

In the Girls Division, Hurst, who won the 2006 Mizuno Junior at Chateau Elan, carded six birdies and only two bogeys, breaking through the field to take the lead by three strokes.

“Yesterday I wasn't determined to make birdies. I was defending my pars,” she said. “I was more confident and determined to make birdies.”

Hurst said she started making birdies after her first one on No. 15.

“From then on I started making more. On the front it felt easier,” she said. “I felt like it was just coming.”

Lindy Duncan of Plantation, Fla., finished three strokes behind Hurst in second at 73-72—145. Three players are tied for third at 147: Jade Bollinger of Wellington, Fla., Alexandra Bodemann of Palm City, Fla., and Jessica Yadloczky of Casselberry, Fla.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA, the largest Association of its kind, has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 5,000 junior golfers from 50 states and 30 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, which is in its third decade of support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 160 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 300 wins. AJGA alumni include Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, Mike Weir, Charles Howell III, Jim Furyk, Grace Park, Cristie Kerr, Candie Kung and Paula Creamer.

The final round of the Mirasol Junior Championship will be held at The Country Club at Mirasol—Sunrise Course off the Nos. 1 and 10 tees, Friday, June 9, with tee times running from 7:30-9:27 a.m. For more information about the Mirasol Junior Championship please contact tournament headquarters at (561) 776-4949, ext.187 or call Tournament Director Jeremy Freyman at (678) 617-9917.