LOGIN Players | ACDS Coaches Corner
American Junior Golf Association American Junior Golf Association
TaylorMade-adidas Golf, National Sponsor of the AJGA adidas Golf TaylorMade Golf
Notice: The ChampionsGate, Florida, event will play the first and second rounds on May 26. The first round will be an 8:00 a.m. shotgun.
Srixon Qualifier Series
The Legend at Brandybrook
Wales, Wis. • June 26, 2005

17 qualify for Future Legends

Wales, Wis. — Ben Bellville of Granger, Ind., and Ross Menke of Sioux Falls, S.D., fired even-par 71s to take medalist honors in the Boys Division at the Srixon Qualifier for the Future Legends. Alexandra Lederhausen of Hinsdale, Ill., shot a 6-over-par 77 to take the lead in the Girls Division.

The 18-hole event, part of the Srixon Qualifier Series, was conducted by the American Junior Golf Association at The Legend at Brandybrook and featured 96 players from 12 states and Canada.

Both Bellville and Menke credit their low scores to accuracy on the putting green.

“I made four birdies today including a 35-foot putt on hole No. 14 for a birdie,” Bellville said. “I felt I did pretty good, but I could have made a few more putts that lipped out.”

Menke's putting helped him card three birdies, all of which were on the front side.

“It was a tough course, but I had a good round and I made the putts I needed to make,” Menke said. “There will be bogies out there, but it's just a matter of how you come back and answer them.”

Other tournament qualifiers in the Boys Division included Brandon Marick of Northbrook, Ill.; Christopher Green of Cary, Ill.; Peter Haller of Winnetka, Ill.; Jacob Lammert of Hartland, Wis.; Tyler Graf of Elm Grove, Wis.; A.J. Olson of White Bear Lake, Minn.; Pete Tomkie of DeWitt, Mich.; Matthew Elverman of Hartland, Wis.; Scott Muzenski of Racine, Wis.; and Adam Dolezal of Lake Forest, Ill. Joseph Smith of Champaign, Ill., Maxwell Scodro of Chicago, Ill., Brad Hopfinger of Lake Forest, Ill.; and Kevin Emmerich of Cary, Ill., also qualified but opted to take an AJGA Tournament Exemption in lieu of playing in this week's event.

Lederhausen had three bogies in a row on the back side but also carded twelve pars to give her a leading score of 36-41—77.

“I didn't do so well on the back side, but I came back on the front,” Lederhausen said. “I like the course-it was fairly long, but it is definitely in good condition.”

Also qualifying in the Girls Division were Rebecca Lederhausen of Hinsdale, Ill.; Anne Ormson of Granger, Ind.; Carly Werwie of Kenosha, Wis.; and Ann Marie Sztukowski of Fond du Lac, Wis. Sydney Sturdevant of Sioux Falls, S.D., and Gianna DiGrazia of Addison, Ill., qualified but also opted to take an AJGA Tournament Exemption.

SRIXON Sports USA, Inc., based in Norcross, Ga., has been distributing premium golf balls and equipment in the U.S. since 1997 and is a subsidiary of SRI Sports. SRI Sports is one of the world's leading patent holders in golf ball technology and manufactures several golf balls played in the United States. SRI Sports-made balls have won 73 PGA TOUR events since 1989, including seven majors. For more information about SRIXON, please visit www.srixon.com.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA, the largest Association of its kind, has a junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 5,000 junior golfers from 50 states and 30 foreign countries.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex Watch USA, a supporter of the AJGA since 1983, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. More than 200 former AJGA juniors currently play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have compiled more than 280 wins. AJGA alumni include Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, Mike Weir, Charles Howell III, Jim Furyk, Dottie Pepper, Grace Park, Cristie Kerr and Beth Bauer.

For more information about the Future Legends, contact tournament headquarters at (262) 968-9717, ext. 211.