Preseason Junior at Pine Island

Pine Island Country Club
Charlotte, N.C. March 28 - 30, 2014

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Chris Richards • (678) 644-4258 •

Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

Local flavor: 24 players from North Carolina will compete.
Boys Division Hometown Grad
Mark Capecci Charlotte 2015
Walker Cress Concord 2016
Jubal Early Charlotte 2015
Regan Erhardt Greensboro 2016
Preyer Fountain Raleigh 2015
Thomas Garbee Asheville 2016
Thomas Hodges Matthews 2015
Mark Johnston Lewisville 2015
Levi Kettelhut Charlotte 2015
John Landers III Raleigh 2015
Jennings Milholen Pittsboro 2015
Christian Park Charlotte 2016
Brantley Phillips Greensboro 2016
George Schmitt Elon 2015
Aaron Shepard Gastonia 2014
Andrew Sherrill Winston-Salem 2016
Will Stewart Charlotte 2015
Christian Todd Wake Forest 2015
Blake Wagoner Cornelius 2016
Aaron Walker Charlotte 2015
Sam Wimbrow Concord 2015
Girls Division Hometown Grad
Moon Cheong Charlotte 2017
Carley Cox China Grove 2015
Grace Massengill Hickory 2016
IMG Academy Preseason Series
The IMG Academy Preseason Series is designed specifically for AJGA members who have not yet been accepted to an AJGA tournament. For those members, the series offers the opportunity to compete against players with similar skill levels while building Performance Based Entry status before application deadlines arrive for summer Open and Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy Junior All-Star Series events.
Pine Island Country Club
Dissected by a rambling stream known as "Long Creek" and populated with hardwoods and pines, Pine Island Country Club opened for play in October of 1968. In January 2005, Pine Island began a major renovation that included the reworking of all 18 greens and bunkers, installing four sets of tees on each hole, rerouting holes six through nine and dramatically improving drainage control and landscaping. This year marks the first time the AJGA will play at Pine Island Country Club.
Local Players
There are 27 players from the state of North Carolina in the field, and of those 27, seven call the city of Charlotte home.

Schedule of Events

Friday, March 28
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Saturday, March 29
8:30 - 10:10 a.m. First Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
Sunday, March 30
8:30 – 10:27 a.m. Final Round off Nos. 1 and 10 tees
3 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Media Accommodations

The Preseason Junior at Pine Island will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

Preseason Series

The Preseason Junior at Pine Island is one of 13 events held as part of the Preseason Series. The Preseason Series is designed specifically for AJGA members who have had limited acceptances into multi-day AJGA events. This series offers these members the opportunity to start building Performance Based Entry status before application deadlines arrive for summer Open and Junior All-Star series events.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-18) of more than 6,300 members from 48 states and more than 50 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 600 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Jordan Spieth, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Stacy Lewis, Vicky Hurst, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome and Morgan Pressel.

Tournament field

- Bold indicates North Carolina native
Boys Division
Nathan Bazant Venetia, Pa.
Michael Braverman Champaign, Ill.
Christopher Briggs Ramsey, N.J.
Archie Britt Bradenton, Fla.
Saurav Bubber Mississauga, Ontario
Andrew Call Charleston, W.Va.
Mark Capecci Charlotte, N.C.
Peter Chang Johnson City, Tenn.
Phil Colevas Rockville, Md.
Walker Cress Concord, N.C.
Charles Dallery Sumter, S.C.
Maurizio De Bono (Italy) Blufton, S.C.
Harris Dodson Knoxville, Tenn.
Jubal Early Charlotte, N.C.
Regan Erhardt Greensboro, N.C.
Walter Felver Ada, Mich.
Preyer Fountain Raleigh, N.C.
William Fullerton Saddle River, N.J.
Thomas Garbee Asheville, N.C.
Gavin Gensler Grove City, Ohio
Lance Gregory Moore, Okla.
Thomas Hodges Matthews, N.C.
Kevin Jackson Atlanta, Ga.
Ritwik Jain (India) Bluffton, S.C.
Hyun Woong Jin Palisades Park, N.J.
Mark Johnston Lewisville, N.C.
Robert Kellerman Frankfort, Ky.
Chase Kephart Nolensville, Tenn.
Levi Kettelhut Charlotte, N.C.
Christopher Kopack Ramsey, N.J.
Jay Lam San Marino, Calif.
John Landers III Raleigh, N.C.
Chris Lane Great Falls, Va.
Dominic Leoni Hockessin, Del.
Eric Meng (Canada) Bradenton, Fla.
Jennings Milholen Pittsboro, N.C.
Vijay Mishra North Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Andrew Moon Danville, Va.
Daiki Okada (Japan) Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Christian Park Charlotte, N.C.
Brantley Phillips Greensboro, N.C.
Trey Razzetti, III Glen Allen, Va.
Connor Rejman North Barrington, Ill.
George Schmitt Elon, N.C.
Parker See Verona, Va.
Keshav Sharma (India) Bluffton, S.C.
Zeke Shen Forest, Va.
Aaron Shepard Gastonia, N.C.
Andrew Sherrill Winston-Salem, N.C.
Oliver Simonsen Ooltewah, Tenn.
Will Stewart Charlotte, N.C.
Christian Todd Wake Forest, N.C.
Charlie Vasbinder Wheaton, Ill.
Blake Wagoner Cornelius, N.C.
Aaron Walker Charlotte, N.C.
Kyle West Lithia, Fla.
Nick Wilkins Frankfort, Ky.
Sam Wimbrow Concord, N.C.
Qi Ming Wong (Singapore) Bradenton, Fla.
Blake Young Lexington, Ky.
Girls Division
Jasmine Chee (Canada) Bluffton, S.C.
Moon Cheong Charlotte, N.C.
Carley Cox China Grove, N.C.
Ashley Czarnecki Greenville, S.C.
Chelsea Dantonio Lancaster, N.Y.
Ashley Dingman Lorton, Va.
Anna Eddy Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Claire Lauterbach Hartland, Wis.
Grace Massengill Hickory, N.C.
Áine Mattera Lake Zurich, Ill.
Yuki Nakayama (Japan) Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Ashley Nguyen South Riding, Va.
Julia Shaw Northville, Mich.
Kayla Smith Middleburg, Fla.
Hannah Solesbee Winston, Ga.
Sera Tadokoro (Japan) Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Ashley Tewksbury Lee, N.H.
Jaelyn Tindal Rock Hill, S.C.
Jodee Tindal Rock Hill, S.C.
Lara Van Staden Winter Springs, Fla.
Isabella Wang Renton, Wash.