Newsmakers: October 29, 2007

Junior Round-up

Julian Suri

Julian Suri of St. Augustine, Fla., won the Golfweek Junior Invitational. Suri won on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff with David Sanders of Mt. Laurel, N.J. Both players had shot matching 9-under-par 135s. Logan Harrell of Huntersville, N.C., and Dean Hester of Dublin, Ga., tied for third with 8-under-par 136s. Benjamin Bauch of Trabuco Canyon, Calif., Cameron Wilson of Rowayton, Conn., and James Erkenbeck of San Diego tied for fifth with 7-under-par 137s to complete the top five. In the Girls Division, Stephanie Kim of Flushing, N.Y., took first place with a 2-under-par 142. She won by two strokes over Kristina Wong of Bradenton, Fla., and Christine Song of Fullerton, Calif. Spain's Marta Silva Zamora finished alone in fourth place. Jennifer Kirby of Paris, Ont., and Rachel Rohanna of Waynesburg, Pa., tied for fifth place.

Peter Uihlein of Bradenton, Fla., and Cory Whitsett of Houston, Texas, represented the U.S. at the Spirit International Amateur Championship, an international four-ball competition held at Whispering Pines Golf Club in Trinity, Texas. The duo tied with Australia for second place in the Mens Division, and along with their female counterparts (AJGA alumnae Amanda Blumenhurst and Tiffany Joh), helped the U.S. tie for second overall.

College Round-up

Georgia won the Isleworth-UCF Collegiate Invitational with a 23-under-par 841 team total, 21 strokes better than second-place Clemson. The Bulldogs were led by Harris English, who took the individual title with an 11-under-par 205. USC's Jamie Lovemark placed second, and English's teammate Hudson Swafford took third. Oklahoma State's Rickie Fowler, Georgia Tech's Chesson Hadley, USC's Tom Glissmeyer, Oklahome State's Trent Leon, Clemson's Kyle Stanley, UCF's Jhared Hack and Clemson's Sam Saunders all finished in the top 10.

Wichita State rallied from a six-stroke deficit Tuesday to beat host San Diego State at the Sycuan Collegiate Invitational and win its fourth title of the year. The Shockers were led by Ryan Spears, who captured medalist honors with a 1-under-par 215.

Virginia Tech won the team title at The Landfall Tradition with a 8-over-par 872 team total. Tulsa's Nicolas Geyger took medalist honors with a 9-under-par 207...Colorado State won the Del Walker Intercollegiate with an 11-under-par 841 team performance, while Arizona's Roberto Galletti won the individual portion with a 9-under-par 204...Nick Delio of Cal State-Northridge captured medalist honors at the SCU Invitational with a 13-under-par 203.

Nannette Hill

Wake Forest won the Women's Landfall Tradition. The Demon Deacons were led by Nannette Hill, who captured medalist honors with a 1-over-par 217. Purdue's Maria Hernandez and Michigan State's Laura Kueny tied for second, one shot back of Hill. Hill's teammate Allie Bodemann, Tulsa's Michaela Cavener and Virginia's Calle Nielson tied for fourth place.

Stacy Lewis helped lead Arkansas to the team title at the UA-Ann Rhoads Intercollegiate. Lewis took first place in the individual portion with an even-par 213. Notre Dame's So-Hyun Park, Furman's Stefanie Kenoyer, Louisville's Cindy LaCrosse, Auburn's Cydney Clanton, Florida's Jessica Yadloczky and Notre Dame's Lisa Maunu all finished in the top 10.

Professional Round-up

Suzann Pettersen won the Honda LPGA Thailand, her second consecutive LPGA Tour victory and third in four weeks. Paula Creamer finished in third place.

* AJGA members and alumni denoted in bold.


Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Sam Burns
Shreveport, LA
2. Sam Horsfield
Davenport, FL
3. Jorge Garcia
Miami, FL
4. Austin Connelly
Irving, TX
5. Brad Dalke
Hobart, OK
1. Andrea Lee
Hermosa Beach, CA
2. Bethany Wu
Diamond Bar, CA
3. Kristen Gillman
Austin, TX
4. Lauren Stephenson
Lexington, SC
5. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
Complete Rankings
Upcoming Events
(Upcoming Events)  
January 16- 18 EaglesDream Golf Academy Junior Championship
January 16- 19 Puerto Rico Junior Open presented by EaglesDream Golf Academy
January 17- 19 Preseason Junior at Morongo
February 13- 16 AJGA Boys Championship at Carlton Woods
February 13- 16 ANNIKA Invitational
February 13- 16 Junior All-Star at Innisbrook
March 27- 29 Preseason Junior at Ocala
Complete Schedule

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
AJGA Senior Boys Championship
*Colin Hamilton
Andrew Chu
Matthew Mourin
C.J. Coleman
AJGA Senior Boys & Girls Championship
Henry Hui
Travis Winn
Cody Renfro
*Hannah Haythorne
Rebeca Maruri
Jenny Zhang
* Won via sudden-death playoff
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.