Preseason Junior at St. James Plantation

St. James Plantation
Southport, N.C. April 5 - 7, 2013

American Junior Golf Association • Contact: Chris Richards • (678) 644-4258 •

/ #AJGAPreseason
Follow us on Twitter Keep up with us on Facebook AJGA Blog


Quick Facts

Tournament Storylines

IMG Academy Preseason Series
The IMG Academy Preseason Series is designed specifically for AJGA members who have had limited acceptances into multi-day AJGA events. This series offers members the opportunity to start building Performance Based Entry status before application deadlines arrive for summer Open and Gary Gilchrist Golf Academy Junior All-Star Series events.
Local flavor: 22 players from North Carolina will compete.
In the Boys Division, 19 participants are natives of North Carolina. In the Girls Division, three competitors call North Carolina home.

Schedule of Events

Friday, April 5
1:30 p.m. shotgun Practice Round
Saturday, April 6
8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. First Round off the No. 1 tee
Sunday, April 7
8 - 9:57 a.m. Final Round off the Nos. 1 & 10 tees
2:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Top Players to Watch

Ashley Sloup, Southport, N.C. (2014)
Sloup is the only player in the field from Southport, N.C. The 2014 graduate attends South Brunswick High School and has found success on her high school golf team, finishing third overall in North Carolina's 3A State Tournament and second in the 3A East Regional.

Media Accommodations

The Preseason Junior at St. James Plantation will have AJGA communications representatives on hand to assist media throughout the week. Prior to the tournament the AJGA will provide information about the event and its participants, as well as assist with player interviews.

After each round, media officials on-site will write a recap with the day's results. These will be emailed to all media outlets. Interviews with AJGA Tournament Directors, Tournament Chairmen and juniors may be conducted before or after tournament rounds.

For more information about the AJGA and tournaments, please refer to Tournament websites are accessible from the homepage and include recaps, list of participants, tee times, live scoring, course and sponsorship information.

Preseason Series

The Preseason Junior at St. James Plantation is one of 13 events held as part of the Preseason Series. The Preseason Series is designed specifically for AJGA members who have had limited acceptances into multi-day AJGA events. This series offers these members the opportunity to start building Performance Based Entry status before application deadlines arrive for summer Open and Junior All-Star series events.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls, ages 12-18) of more than 6,300 members from 48 states and more than 50 foreign countries. Through initiatives like the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant, a financial assistance program, and Leadership Links, a service-oriented platform that teaches juniors charitable-giving skills, the AJGA fosters the growth of golf’s next generation.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 600 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Jordan Spieth, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Stacy Lewis, Vicky Hurst, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome and Morgan Pressel.

Tournament field

- Bold indicates North Carolina native
Boys Division
Max Brady Leesburg, Va.
Zach Brewer Belmont, N.C.
Alexandre Britsch-Idhammou Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.
Garret Buckley Novi, Mich.
Joseph Cansler Clemmons, N.C.
Cody Carlson Mooresville, N.C.
Guy Cheatham Midlothian, Va.
Sean Chung Toronto, Ontario
Charles Corner Cayuga, Ontario
Jonathon Davis Advance, N.C.
Cole DeLucas Harrisonburg, Va.
Tyler Dunmyer North Potomac, Md.
Campbell Fisher Suwanee, Ga.
Austin Fockler Richmond, Va.
Buzz Ganow Haymarket, Va.
Turner Garris Wilson, N.C.
Raj Ghosh Duluth, Ga.
Jack Gianniny Rochester, N.Y.
Vishal Giri Chantilly, Va.
Elliott Grayson Shelby, N.C.
Austin Green Fayetteville, Pa.
Christian Hodge Whitsett, N.C.
Alex Hutson Newport, Tenn.
Pedro Junqueira (Brazil) Bradenton, Fla.
Brendan Keating Cincinnati, Ohio
Jacob Kennedy Mt. Ulla, N.C.
Davis Kiger Harrisburg, N.C.
Nick Kroustalis Clemmons, N.C.
Kevin Kunkle Walnutport, Pa.
Drew Lagan Roanoke, Va.
Enmin Liu (China) Windermere, Fla.
Tristan Lough Elon, N.C.
Matthew Mannion (Canada) Hilton Head, S.C.
Blake Martin Pinehurst, N.C.
Alex Merriman Orlando, Fla.
Robert Nixon Washington, D.C.
Evan Norfleet Durham, N.C.
Charles Padial Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
Daniel Pedrazzi Glen Allen, Va.
Aaron Persily Charleston, W.Va.
Gregory Piper Oakville, Ontario
James Prisk New York, N.Y.
Colin Ragsdale Chesapeake, Va.
Harrison Rhoades Raleigh, N.C.
David Romig III Midlothian, Va.
Hall Rupert Powells Point, N.C.
Will Sallee Lexington, Ky.
Andrew Sarokin Novi, Mich.
Coleman Self Greenwood, S.C.
David Silvestro Hamilton, Ontario
Alex Simpson Matthews, N.C.
Rob Simpson Carrollton, Ga.
Alex Smalley Wake Forest, N.C.
Breck Stodghill Louisville, Ky.
Grant Studdard Lantana, Texas
Kent von Nostitz Louisville, Ky.
Daniel Wine Penn Laird, Va.
Steven Wysocki Hoschton, Ga.
Masato Yoshitsugu (Japan) Bluffton, S.C.
Ford Zehner Moseley, Va.
Zitong (Ezekiel) Zhao (China) Hartsdale, N.Y.
Girls Division
Dorsey Addicks Gallatin Gateway, Mont.
Katie Bishop Cleveland, Tenn.
Elizabeth Cason Owensboro, Ky.
Rachel Corry Ridgefield, Conn.
Erin Drolet Alexandria, Va.
Madison Glennie Clearwater, Fla.
Jane Hopkinson-Wood Pottstown, Pa.
Sophia Morrill Hanover, Mass.
Alexa Murray Greenwich, Conn.
Rachel Oates Rye, N.Y.
Isabella Rusher Salisbury, N.C.
Thamonpat Siriko Bangkok, Thailand
Ashley Sloup Southport, N.C.
Meghan Symonds Cary, N.C.
Phyllis Tang (Singapore) Bluffton, S.C.
Katie Turk Blacksburg, Va.
Lisa Unterganschnigg (Austria) Bradenton, Fla.
Camilla Vik (Norway) Greenwich, Conn.
Allison Woodward Unicoi, Tenn.
Qingyi Symba Xu (China) Bradenton, Fla.