Pepsi Qualifier Series presented by ClubCorp

PGA Golf Club, North Course
Port St. Lucie, Florida
July 14, 2001

Weather halts play for nearly five hours

PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. - David Cosper of Clearwater, Fla., and Joe Morton of Waycross, Ga., each fired 3-under-par 69s Saturday to share medalist honors at the AJGA Henry-Griffitts Junior at PGA Golf Club Qualifier.

The 18-hole qualifier, part of the Pepsi Qualifier Series presented by ClubCorp, was conducted by the American Junior Golf Association and featured 55 players representing 10 states, including 43 Florida residents. The event, held at the PGA Golf Club, North Course, was delayed for nearly five hours due to inclement weather.

Cosper, who will play golf at the University of Florida next fall, used five birdies, including three on the front, en route to his 69. The 18-year-old made the turn at 2-under-par after birdies on Nos. 3, 4 and 6 before playing the back nine in 1-under-par fashion, including a key birdie on the par-4, 430-yard 18th hole.

"I was able to knock a six-iron from about 185-feet out of a fairway bunker to within six-feet of the hole," Cosper said about his birdie on No. 18. "That really got me going.

"I just need to get my driver going again. That has been the only crutch in my game the last few weeks. If I can get that going again, I know I can take it low."

Morton, who carded four birdies in his round, was equally impressive, making the turn at 2-under-par 34 before consecutive birdies on Nos. 14 and 15 put him at 1-under-par on the back nine.

"I really played solid all-around today," Morton, 17, said. "I was 1-over-par on the par-5s, but was able to make a few birdies to overcome that. I would just like to keep up my play and try to make fewer mistakes."

Federico Salazar of Delray, Fla., finished third at 35-36-71 while Tyler Clippard of Trinity, Fla., was fourth at 34-39-73. Steven Bain of Lake Mary, Fla., Ralph Martello of White Lake, Mich., and Mathew Lyons of Lakeland, Fla., each qualified after tying for fifth at 74. Chris Anderson of Lake Mary, Fla., and Brandon Wheeler of Coral Springs, Fla., rounded out the remaining spots after qualifying on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff.

The AJGA Henry-Griffitts Junior at Abacoa begins Tuesday, July 17, with tee times running from 7-9 a.m. of the first and 10th tees.

For more information on the AJGA Henry-Griffitts Junior at Abacoa, contact tournament headquarters at (561) 622-0036.


PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. -- Qualifier results from the AJGA HENRY-GRIFFITTS JUNIOR at PGA GOLF CLUB QUALIFIER conducted by the American Junior Golf Association at PGA Golf Club, North Course. Par: 36-36--72. Yardage: Boys: 6,760


David Cosper (2001) Clearwater, Fla.* 34-35--69
Joe Morton (2002) Waycross, Ga.* 34-35--69
Federico Salazar (2002) Delray Beach, Fla.* 35-36--71
Tyler Clippard (2003) Trinity, Fla.* 34-39--73
Steven Bain (2003) Lake Mary, Fla.* 39-35--74
Ralph Martello (2002) White Lake, Mich.* 39-35--74
Matthew Lyons (2002) Lakeland, Fla.* 39-35-74
#Chris Anderson (2004) Lake Mary, Fla.* 37-38--75
#Brandon Wheeler (2002) Coral Springs, Fla.* 37-38--75

Failed to Qualify
Chiho Kwak (2002) Jacksonville, Fla.* 36-39--75
Scott Squires (2002) Coral Springs, Fla.* 38-37--75
Paul Humbert (2002) Miami, Fla.* 35-41--76
Derek Fathauer (2004) Jensen Beach, Fla.* 38-38--76
Yuichi Yamazaki (2002) Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.* 39-37--76
Jeff Gray (2002) Winter Springs, Fla.* 38-39--77
Justin Lee (2002) Alpharetta, Ga.* 39-38--77
Elias Esparza (2002) Weston, Fla.* 39-38--77
Timothy McMillan (2002) Palm City, Fla.* 37-40--77
Sonny Nimkhum (2002) Cerritos, Calif.* 37-40--77
Joowon Ko (2003) Wellington, Fla.* 40-38--78
Andrew Turker (2002) Dunedin, Fla.* 40-38--78
Matthew Reed (2001) Cartersville, Ga.* 40-39--79
Benjamin Miller (2002) Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.* 40-39--79
Chris Dobbs (2003) Palm City, Fla.* 38-41--79
Clifton Williams (2004) Seminole, Fla.* 43-36--79
Michael Fiore (2005) Raleigh, N.C.* 39-40--79
Daryl Fathauer (2004) Jensen Beach, Fla.* 40-40--80
Clayton Gamber (2002) Fort Lauderdale, Fla.* 40-41--81
Andy Zaras (2003) Miami Springs, Fla.* 40-41--81
Fernando Mota (2001) Deltona, Fla.* 40-41--81
Christopher Cook (2002) Orlando, Fla.* 42-39--81
Frank Sornatale (2001) Satellite Beach, Fla.* 41-40--81
Joey Smith (2001) Baltimore, Md.* 41-40--81
Ryan Tidwell (2002) Cypress, Texas* 41-41--82
Joe Sticca (2002) Winter Springs, Fla.* 41-41--82
Zach Gould (2004) Punta Gorda Isle, Fla.* 39-43--82
Jeff D'amico (2002) Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.* 43-40--83
Sungwon Jeon (2005) Tampa, Fla.* 42-41--83
Trey Harlow (2003) Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.* 38-45--83
Larry Lee (2004) Tamarac, Fla.* 43-41--84
Blair Harkins (2002) Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.* 42-42--84
Sterling Gould (2003) Punta Gorda Isle, Fla.* 42-42--84
Anthony Gillick (2002) Arlington Heights, Ill.* 40-44--84
Jeff Kostelnik (2003) Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.* 42-42--84
Scott Kesner (2002) Titusville, Fla.* 42-43--85
Yoalbert Gamboa (2002) Miami, Fla.* 45-40--85
Yunsu Park (2002) Bradenton, Fla.* 42-43--85
Matthew Aronsky (2002) Fort Lauderdale, Fla.* 42-44--86
Michael Bloch (2001) Yonkers, N.Y.* 42-44--86
Kevin Steakin (2005) Wellington, Fla.* 45-42--87
Chris Sohl (2002) Palon City, Fla.* 46-42--88
Brian Pietrantonio (2002) Marshfield, Ma.* 50-46--96
Diego Ayala (2004) Celebration, Fla.* WD
Michael Himebaugh (2002) Palm City, Fla.* WD
Steven Crolic (2003) Jacksonville, Fla.* WD
Matt Horn (2002) Boca Raton, Fla.* WD

#Qualified on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff

Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Davis Shore
knoxville, TN
5. Won Jun Lee
Wesley Chapel, FL
1. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
2. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
3. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
4. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
5. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.