Newsmakers: September 15, 2008

Newsmakers: September 15, 2008

College Round-up

Mike Van Sickle
Mike Van Sickle

Mike Van Sickle won the 2008 Gopher Invitational that ended Sunday in Minneapolis. Van Sickle competes for Marquette University, who finished tied for sixth as a team at the event. The top-five finishers included Charlie Holland, Cole Peevler, Richard Lee, and Sang Yi.  LSU and Texas finished tied for first at 8-over-par.

Kyle Stanley, a member of the Clemson Tigers golf team, won the Carpet Capital Collegiate in Rocky Face, Ga., Sunday with an 8-under-par 208. Jonathan Hodge finished as the second place individual at the event, while his team, the University of Tennessee – Chattanooga Mocs, won the event over the University of Tennessee by five strokes.

Professional Round-up

On the Nationwide Tour, Chris Tidland won the Albertsons Boise Open Presented by Kraft with a tournament total 20-under-par 264. Scott Piercy, Peter Tomasulo and Matt Bettencourt all finished in the top five.

Angela Stanford won the Bell Micro LPGA Classic, held at Magnolia Grove Golf Course in Mobile, Ala., Sunday with an 11-under-par 277. AJGA alum Kim Hall took second. Danielle Downey and Hee-Young Park tied for fourth place, and In-Kyung Kim finished tied for seventh.

The 2008 Ryder Cup gets underway Friday. Nine of the 12 U.S. team members are AJGA alumni. They are Phil Mickelson, Stewart Cink, Jim Furyk, Anthony Kim, Justin Leonard, Ben Curtis, J.B. Holmes, Hunter Mahan, and Steve Stricker. Chad Campbell, Kenny Perry and Boo Weekley round out the team. Team USA will compete against their counterparts from Europe at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Ky.

*AJGA alumni denoted in bold










Premier Partners
Official Partners
Media Partners
Association Partner
Twitter Facebook AJGA Blog AJGA on Instagram AJGA on YouTube
Member Logins
Player, Coach and Alumni Login
Member ID:
Forgot your password?
Don't have a password?
Forgot your Member ID?
Not A Member or Need to Renew?
What every member should know
Learn the basics
Performance Based Entry
Leadership Links
ACE Grant financial aid
Polo Golf Rankings
1. Chun-an Yu
Taoyuan, --
2. Philip Barbaree
Shreveport, LA
3. Eugene Hong
Sanford, FL
4. Spencer Soosman
Westlake Village, CA
5. Davis Shore
Knoxville, TN
1. Hannah O'Sullivan
Chandler, AZ
2. Angel Yin
Arcadia, CA
3. Sierra Brooks
Sorrento, FL
4. Nelly Korda
Bradenton, FL
5. Mika Liu
Beverly Hills, CA
Complete Rankings

The Foundation

The American Junior Golf Foundation is the primary recipient of all charitable giving to the AJGA and as such administers a variety of programs designed to compliment the AJGA and the members and families who make up our community. Learn more about these important programs and how your contributions to the Foundation secure the AJGA’s financial future for future generations to come.
Donate Now
Planned Giving Program
Endow an ACE Grant
Annual Fund
ACE Grant


The Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program provides financial assistance to junior golfers who wish to play in AJGA events. Its goal is to give top-flight golf opportunities to young golfers regardless of financial resources. This program helps to fulfill the AJGA’s mission of developing young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Leadership Links

What is Leadership Links?

Leadership Links is a new program whereby the AJGA is able to further its mission to help develop young men and women by teaching charitable giving skills and service-oriented practices at an early age. This program gives juniors all the tools necessary to donate their time, talent and resources to local charities and the AJGA youth development programs. Please click here to learn more about the program and the different opportunities available.

Weekly Results
Polo Golf Junior Classic
S.M. Lee
Won Jun Lee
Matthew Wolff
Mariel Galdiano
Andrea Lee
Maria Hoyos
FJ Live Scoring
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and
development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.